The vision in Daniel 2 divides world history into six successive ages.

The man of Daniel 2

The vision in Daniel 2 uses the statue of a man to symbolize the history from the time of Daniel to the return of Christ:

Its head of gold (2:32) is explained as king Nebuchadnezzar (2:38) and represents the Babylonian Empire.

The breast of silver (2:32) is “another kingdom inferior to” the Babylonian Empire (2:39), which will follow “after” the Babylonian Empire (2:39).

Its belly and thighs of bronze (2:32) are “another third kingdom of bronze, which will rule over all the earth” (2:39).

Its legs of iron (2:33) are “a fourth kingdom as strong as iron; inasmuch as iron crushes and shatters all things, so, like iron that breaks in pieces, it will crush and break all these in pieces” (2:40).


The feet, partly of iron and partly of clay (2:33), are “a divided kingdom” (2:41).  During each of the four successive kingdoms (2:37-40) there will be a supreme king over all nations.  But during the “divided kingdom” there will no such supreme king.  During that time, many kings will rule over many kingdoms.  Verse 43 confirms this by explaining that these kings will “combine with one another” through intermarriage, but succeeding to unify them.


Then “a stone was cut out without hands” (2:34).  “Without hands” is explained as “God of heaven will set up” (2:44).  It means supernatural (Mar. 14:58; Col. 2:11).  This stone completely destroys the image.  “Not a trace of them was found” (2:35).  “But the stone that struck the statue became a great mountain and filled the whole earth” (2:35).  This is explained as a “kingdom which will never be destroyed” (2:44).  The parallel vision in Daniel 7 refers to the “everlasting kingdom” (7:27)—“the saints of the Highest One will receive the kingdom and possess the kingdom forever, for all ages to come” (7:18).  This eternal kingdom will be on earth (2:35).

Although the first four kingdoms dominate one after the other, each of them continues to exist until the eternal kingdom is set up.  Only then do they all disappear without a trace (2:35).


The vision in Daniel 2 divides the history of the world into six successive epochs.  The first is the Babylonian Empire and the last is the eternal kingdom:

1. Head of gold = Babylonian Empire (2:38)
2. Breast = Silver kingdom (2:39)
3. Belly and thighs = Bronze kingdom (2:39)
4. Legs = Iron kingdom (2:40)
5. Feet of iron and clay = Divided kingdom (2:41)
6. Great mountain = Eternal kingdom (2:44)


The metal man of Daniel 2 Current article
The four beasts of Daniel 7 NEXT
Three interpretations of the little horn
Compare Daniel 7 and 8 to identify the fourth kingdom.
Daniel 8: The evil horn does not come out of a Greek horn.
Daniel 11’s Vile Person: Antiochus or Antichrist?  
Does Antiochus IV fit the profile of Daniel’s Evil King? 

One Reply to “The vision in Daniel 2 divides world history into six successive ages.”

  1. One common aspect of each of the four successive empires is that, they all observed the seventh day Sabbath. Up until 325 AD, when the fourth Empire changed to the first (8th) day. The second, the Medo-Persian Empire, not only observed the 7th day, but according to the Book of Esther, they also observed the law of Moses. Either as circumcised or uncircumcised. As it was in the first century.


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.